Community meeting in the Capertee Valley




About the Electorate

Calare is a rural federal electorate of 21,621 square kms, situated in Wiradjuri country on the Central Western Tablelands of NSW.

Calare was named after the Aboriginal name for the Lachlan River, and was first proclaimed as a federal seat in 1906.

The electorate stretches from Lithgow at the foot of the Blue Mountains in the east to the village of Eugowra in the west. Major towns also include Bathurst, Cowra and Orange, with Oberon, Canowindra, Blayney, Molong, Portland, Wallerawang and Yeoval also falling within the electorate.

Calare currently has about 87,000 enrolled voters and is classified as a very safe independent seat.