One of the beautiful aboriginal murals under the Cowra Bridge.




Wiradjuri Country

Ngadhu gawambanna ngindhugir Wiradjuri garai,
I welcome you all to Wiradjuri land,

ma ingu Dulin totem
people of the goanna totem

The Wiradjuri people were known as the people of the three rivers: the Wambool (now known as the Macquarie River), the Kalari (the Lachlan River, from which the electorate takes its name) and the Murrumbidjeri (the Murrumbidgee River).

At the time of European colonisation there were approximately 600 Aboriginal peoples in Australia, each with their own language, cultural practices and beliefs. In New South Wales at least 70 Aboriginal languages and dialects were spoken.

Wiradjuri country is the largest in NSW, stretching from the eastern boundary of the Great Dividing Range. Drawing a line from the present towns of Hay and Nyngan approximates the western boundary. While Gunnedah and Albury mark the northern and southern boundaries of Wiradjuri country.

The electorate of Calare sits in the eastern portion of Wiradjuri Country.